Pennsylvania drivers are required to carry auto insurance that meets certain minimum coverage levels. These areas include bodily injury liability coverage, property damage liability coverage, and uninsured motorist coverage. Pennsylvania drivers can carry more than the minimum coverage amounts. However, they must carry at least the minimum in order to legally drive in the state.
Pennsylvania drivers will face strong consequences if they don’t adhere to the auto insurance requirements in the state of Pennsylvania. Liability auto insurance is a requirement in the state. If you don’t carry liability auto insurance you face the possibility of a $300 fine and the suspension of your driver’s license for driving uninsured. Your vehicle registration can also be suspended for three months and a three-month suspension of your driver’s license. These are the penalties that you face if Penn DOT discovers that you drove without the required insurance.
Pennsylvania State Minimums for Auto Insurance
Our team at the Options Insurance Agency is committed to helping Hershey, PA residents understand what’s required to legally drive in Pennsylvania. Pennsylvania residents must purchase $15,000 per person, $30,000 per accident for bodily injury liability coverage. State residents must also carry $5,000 in property damage liability coverage. Residents must also carry $15,000 per person and $30,000 per accident in uninsured motorist coverage. Our team at the Options Insurance Agency wants PA drivers to understand what is required to legally operate a car within the state. We take the time to explain everything that’s required by state law to drive.
Liability auto insurance is required by law. However, liability insurance coverage levels must meet the state minimums. We’re here to answer any questions drivers may have about what’s required and what’s not required. GIve us a call. We’re here to guide you through understanding state laws and liability coverage minimums.